21 August 2007

Apostolic Succession of ArchBishop Thomas Collins

It is well known that the Bishops of the Catholic Church must be able to trace their successions to the first apostles. Well, with the help of other people's research, I bring to you the Apostolic Succession of Archbishop Thomas Collins. I find it interesting that not only should the bishops theoretically succeed the Apostles but that they really do.

Let me point out that Apostolic Succession refers to who consecrated the Bishop.

Archbishop Thomas Christopher Collins (1997) was consecrated by:
Bishop Anthony Frederick Tonnos (1983) who was in turn consecrated by:
Bishop Thomas Joseph McCarthy † (1955) and so on down the line
Giovanni Cardinal Panico † (1935)
Pietro Cardinal Fumasoni Biondi † (1916)
Domenico Cardinal Serafini, O.S.B. † (1900)
Serafino Cardinal Vannutelli † (1869)
Costantino Cardinal Patrizi Naro † (1828)
Carlo Cardinal Odescalchi, S.J. † (1823)
Giulio Maria Cardinal della Somaglia † (1788)
Hyacinthe-Sigismond Cardinal Gerdil, B. † (1777)
Marcantonio Cardinal Colonna † (1762)
Pope Carlo della Torre Rezzonico † (1743)
Pope Prospero Lorenzo Lambertini † (1724)
Pope Pietro Francesco (Vincenzo Maria) Orsini de Gravina, O.P. † (1675)
Paluzzo Cardinal Paluzzi Altieri Degli Albertoni † (1666)
Ulderico Cardinal Carpegna † (1630)
Luigi Cardinal Caetani † (1622)
Ludovico Cardinal Ludovisi † (1621)
Archbishop Galeazzo Sanvitale † (1604)
Girolamo Cardinal Bernerio, O.P. † (1586)
Giulio Antonio Cardinal Santorio † (1566) until you get to
Scipione Cardinal Rebiba † and from here I quote:

More than ninety percent of Roman Catholic and Old Catholic bishops active today trace their Episcopal lineage back to one bishop appointed in 1541,Scipione Rebiba. From Cardinal Rebiba, the Apostolic Line certainly extends back to the inception of the See in Rome.

No comments: